Free 15 Min Consultation With Your Surgeon

'No obligation, No Pressure – just professional confidential advice from our expert surgeons'
01744 646 643

Testimonials

Patient Satisfaction Survey

Nov 2011 (n=82)

Consultation
93% Excellent 7% Good
Medical Treatment
95% Excellent 5% Good
Post Operative Care
87% Excellent 13% Good
Value for money
91% Excellent 9% Good
Helpfulness of Staff
89% Excellent 11% Good

Please click on the links below to read testimonials regarding specific procedures.

Testimonial Categories…

Scan0004
I never believed I could get my eyesight back after it started to deteriorate about 7 years ago. I have been totally dependent on glasses for reading since turning 40, always having to make sure I have a pair of reading glasses with me wherever I go. After hearing a radio advert for Viewpoint Vision I decided to make an appointment for a consultation. I was very impressed when I arrived at St Helens vision correction centre. Mr Chitkara gave me a very warm welcome. After he tested my eyesight and carried out various other testson my vision we had a good chat about the options available to me. Everything was explained very clearly making it easy to understand, with any questions also answered thoroughly. My eyesight is not only important to me personally but also professionally as I am a train driver. In July this year (2016) I had refractive lens exchange (multifocal lenses) and couldn’t recommend it highly enough. Mr Chitkara had a chat with me before the operation to explain what I should expect in the theatre. Then he came to the ward afterwards just to go over the recovery and aftercare. Both eyes were operated on the same day and there was no pain or discomfort at all. I now have 20/20 vision and still can’t believe it. Gary H – Wirral, July 2016
just a quick note to thank you for sorting my vision out. Its great that I am no longer restricted to glasses or fiddling with contact lenses, no more eye infections due to contact lenses....brilliant!! Thank you for the perfect balance between professionalism and friendliness. I would definitely recommend viewpoint to friends and family. Fatamah S  St.Helens
I have worn reading glasses for years so I decided I would go for laser surgery. Read several negative reviews on high street stores and it appeared it was a case of do the procedure and that's it, no aftercare as such and not always good results. But then I came across Viewpoint. The reviews were good so I made an appointment. Although I initially thought I would be having laser surgery, Dr Chitkara recommended I had a Raindrop Implant. Although the thought of someone cutting my eye and inserting a lens, albeit tiny, terrified me I thought I would take the plunge and go for it! I can honestly say it was totally painless. Drops are administered in the eye and you cannot feel a thing. The procedure took about ten minutes and post-op Dr Chitkara suggested I take paracetamol if there was any discomfort - there wasn't. I have been for a check up every four weeks and everything is fine. I can now read without glasses unless it is very small, faint print. It can take six months to see the full benefit. I would definitely recommend Dr Chitkara and the Raindrop Implant, just wish I had had it done years ago! Beverley W –  Cheshire July 2016
"I am writing this e mail, to Thank you for performing the LASEK procedure in January 2016. From the first consultation that I had with you and to this date, you have shown the utmost care and professionalism throughout my treatment. No only you all answered all of my questions, but you also alleviated any concerns that I had and advised me on the best procedure for my vision. Furthermore your knowledge and years of expertise, enabled me to have confidence in the procedure and I am delighted with the results. Thank you once again for correcting my vision and enabling me to have a clearer perspective of life. Best Wishes, Hassan M (Liverpool)
"I have been looking for an alternative to reading glasses for several years. Then I found Raindrop. With the minimum of fuss i can now read small print without the need for glasses. I feel a great sense of freedom and can only commend Deepak and his team. I would definitely recommend this innovative procedure." Helen H,
Very pleased with the outcome of lens replacement (October 2015)- Thankful that I did not go through a high street outlet for laser treatment or lens replacement. The service provided was friendly, professional and efficient. The aftercare was also very good. I would recommend it to anyone who was in my position of having poor (short sighted) vision and increasing deterioration reading up close. My Thanks to Mr Chitkara and his team. Richard W
Richard W   
I had Lens Refraction Treatment on the 25.05.2016 and cannot believe the difference it has made to my vision.  I had really poor sight prior to the operation and I could only see the first large letter on the eye test chart!  I also had the beginnings of cataracts in both eyes.  I was really nervous about the operation as I have an 'eye phobia' and couldn't even manage contact lenses.  Deepak was very reassuring and the staff on the day ward at the hospital were great.  The op is very quick (10 minutes each eye) and completely painless.  I was able to drive by the afternoon of the next day and back in work on day 2 after the op, using my computer and writing reports!  I really wish I'd had the surgery earlier as I have worn glasses since I was 7 years old and I'm sixty now.  The follow up care is great too.
Kath T
Having worn glasses for 25 years i was recommended Viewpoint by two work colleagues who had lens implants. As my eyes were never suitable for laser i was interested in the lens implants. I was confident with Mr Chitkara after the consultation and two weeks later i had the procedure. The follow up care from the operation was excellent by Mr Chitkara. Its great not to have to put glasses on, putting makeup on, driving, distance, reading. I highly recommend Mr Chitkara for his professionalism and care. Maureen N - Widnes

Ron D, Huyton

I had Refractive Lens Exchange in June 2015 in both eyes due to suffering from cataracts. After the initial consultation with Mr Chitkara the whole experience was very professional, sympathetic and reassuring. The procedure was pain free, no injections used, only drops used to anaesthetise my eyes. The operation performed by Mr Chitkara was excellent taking only around forty minutes for both eyes from the drops being put into my eyes to me being taken back to the day ward,  for coffee and biscuits. The result was unbelievable, 20/20 vision, from being able to read very small print to seeing to the horizon, making all my glasses redundant. The aftercare service is excellent. I would highly recommend Mr Chitkara and his team to anyone requiring eye surgery.  
Jim J  (St Helens)   It is now three months since you put the Raindrop implant in my left eye and I would just like to say I am delighted with the results and with the followup service you have provided.
I could read without glasses after a few days, although only from a few inches at first. After a month I was reading at a comfortable distance and after 2 to 3 months I can read all sizes of print ( I am writing this Email on my Phone with no problems).
My binocular distance  vision has been virtually unaffected throughout and distance vision in my left eye is still improving as you promised it would.
In fact the whole process has gone pretty much as you predicted.
So Many thanks.
Sarah P (Urmston Manchester)   I underwent Lens Replacement Surgery under the care of Mr Chitkara In September 2014 and I am absolutely delighted with the result and the care that I received throughout the process. Everything was thoroughly explained with realistic and honest expectations. The procedure was painless, only experiencing minor discomfort in the hours following surgery requiring nothing more than simple pain relief. I work as a nurse in the NHS and was back to work and driving within two days of the procedure. I have been regularly followed up and examined following my surgery and was discharged at 6 months with 20/20 vision.   I would highly recommended this procure and the care given by Mr Chitkara and his team at Viewpoint was of the highest standard.   Thank you   Regards
Scan0003
Barbara A (Warrington) I knew that I had cataracts for a few years that needed attention, but due to fear and apprehension I delayed doing anything about it. I did lots of research and found out about Mr Chitkara and Viewpoint Vision. I made an appointment to see My Chitkara, who was very professional, knowledgeable and explained everything to me. I felt that I would be in very safe hands and decided to go ahead with Refractive Lens Exchange. I had the operation a month ago (February 2015). There was no pain, no injections and Mr Chitkara was very reassuring throughout the procedure. Mr Chitkara phoned me the day after operation to ask how I was and answered any questions I had. I also went for a check up a couple of days later. I have to say that having Refractive Lens Exchange has been the best decision I have ever made. It has changed my life completely. At my one month check up today I now have 20/20 vision!!!! Everything is so much clearer and brighter. I would recommend Mr Chitkara without reservation. My only regret is that I didn't have the operation done sooner. Thankyou so much Mr Chitkara and Viewpoint Vision.
Sharon C (St Helens) I've been debating having LASER eye surgery for years. But its one of the best decisions I've made. I will recommend Viewpoint Vision to others . Mr Chitkara made the whole process easier and put me at ease.
PageLines- Scan0002.jpg
Kath S ( Prescot) I had replacement lenses fitted in January this year (2015). Fantastic,one of the best decisions I've ever made,  wish I could have afforded it years ago. I can now apply eyeliner etc without nearly poking my eyes out or spend twice the time having to wipe it off having missed my aim! I have finally caught up with all sewing jobs as I can now thread even the tiniest needle, might even get the sewing machine out from the hidden depths of the understairs cupboard. I can read even the tiniest writing so the page turner on my Ereader won't wear out as I can have more words per page and I can see in the distance too.   I tried wearing contact lenses recently but I either couldn't get them in without dropping them or get them out very easily. I then went to a laser eye clinic but was ill advised (said I needed monovision procedure as I had high astigmatism) in all the years of eye tests (from early 30s, I'll be 59 on 26/7) no optician has ever mentioned I had this problem. Deepak said it's so slight it's not worth mentioning, plus if I had gone for this procedure I would have had to have it done again in 4 or 5 years time due to my age ( also one of the machines broke down 3 times which didn't instil me with confidence). Even though the replacement lens surgery was more expensive it will be more economical and I'll never get cataracts, also I liked the fact that Deepak told me one price, no messing about with special offers etc. or going to big boss then bigger boss to negotiate a cheaper price. When making such a momentous decision regarding your sight its not just about the cost!   I only dealt with Deepak from start to finish, he even phoned me to check up on me and he was available 24/7 if I had any concerns. He was wonderful and he's changed my life, would wholeheartedly recommend him! Kath S
I first had my eyes lasered in 1997 by Dr Chitkara and the procedure was very successful, my vision being first class . At the time Dr Chitkara explained that my eyesight would deteriorate again after about 10 years. In fact my eyes were fine for nearly 15 years. I managed to get back in contact with Dr Chikara in 2015, nearly 18 years after my first procedure to see if I could have laser surgery once again. After a consultation Refractive eye surgery was recommended as this would be a PERMANENT solution. The procedure was simple and painless and I am pleased to say I now have great vision and am delighted with the result. I can't thank Dr Chitkara enough for his excellent care and skill. Steve Rodgers Manchester Steve Rodgers
This is very belated testimonial I have struggled to find adequate words to thank Mr Chitkara and his St Helens staff the miracle that have performed for me over the last 2 years. With keratoconus in my right eye for which I always thought I would need a cornea transplant in the future. The care and compassion I received is absolutely incredible. Words cannot begin to express how I feel thanks to the miracle surgeons who performed this surgery. About few years ago I realised how close I had to sit to the TV or focusing for a better, clearer look. So I went to tested my eyes at NHS hospital but they couldn’t tell me what was wrong with my eyes, only gave me glasses (with keratoconus shouldn’t gave me glasses!) and told me to come back a year later. Every year my eyes went worst I was worried I lose my eye sight if I didn’t do anything. I started research what could be my options. I made an appointment with one of the laser surgery firm, they straight away told me couldn’t do laser surgery because of my condition of my eye. I was angry why in the hospital never said what’s wrong with my eyes if they would say I wouldn’t waste almost 4 years of my life. I wanted the best treatment for my eyes so I researched again and I found Mr Chitkara from the first second he was really helpful, friendly. After the operation I had to cover both my eyes and had to use eye drops I had pain but was bearable. Mr Chitkara kept contact me even the next day after the operation he phoned me asked about how I felt. After the operation my sight was better, after a few days later of the operation I had my next check-up with Mr Chitkara where my eyes were unbelievably better than they were before. I am glad I made the biggest decision in my life wasn’t easy but Mr Chitkara supported me through that time. Can’t thank him enough time.
Mehdi M (Liverpool)   
I am 82 years of age and love driving so when I developed cataracts I contacted Viewpoint Vision. I was examined by Deepak Chitkara and given my options not to wear spectacles at all. I went for the operation on 16th of April. I was very, very nervous but the staff were great and helped me relax. The operation took around 20 minutes for both eyes and there was no pain or injections. When I went to the recovery room I was given refreshments but was more surprised to see everything in focus. I had worn glasses from the age of seven I could not believe it. I was back driving within 48 hours. I wish I could have had it done many years ago. Thanks Mr Deepak Chitkara and Team.
SF (Liverpool)   
After years of wearing glasses and contact lenses I began to suffer severely with dry eyes meaning wearing lenses was no longer an option. I was initially terrified at the prospect of surgery, but staff at St Helens Hospital who had previously had similar surgeries immediately put me at ease with their anecdotes and experiences. The procedure itself was uncomfortable and painful, but the results made it all worth it. I could see immediately and my vision improved day by day. Now, almost 1 year later my vision is better than it ever was with the aid of glasses and lenses. Waking up and being able to see in 20/20 vision without having to grope around for my glasses still amazes me today and I would recommend ICL surgery to anyone.
Lucinda G (Newcastle –u-Tyne)   
As a long time contact lens wearer (over 30 years) I was keen to identify a more permanent solution for good eyesight without specs. I went to Viewpoint vision and received very clear advice and information about what would be right for me and details of the procedure. I underwent refractive lens exchange; the procedure on each eye was quick and painless and I felt in very safe hands. Within a few days I was driving and then back at work as normal. My eyesight is extremely good now for both distance and reading. I am delighted with the outcome and the friendly, helpful and highly professional service I received throughout the process. I can also enjoy leisure interests even more which include yoga, running and swimming.
Penny A  
My Wife and I both had (Intra Ocular Implants Refractive Surgery) just over 1 year ago, Mr Chitkara and his team did a great job very professional from start to finish. Money well spent sorry we never had it done sooner. My Wife and I would like to thank Mr. Chitkara and his team for making our life 100% per-cent Better now that we do not need to use reading classes and contact Lens anymore, Briilliant.
I was recommended to Deepak by a top eye surgeon who said, "Deepak is excellent in all procedures and highly knowledgeable in both research and latest developments in ophthalmic surgery".  From the very first consultation I felt secure in my decision to go ahead with the lens exchange. I was very short sighted -5.25 and -3.50.  With the  lens exchange procedure, enabled me to have sight without glasses for distance and reading.   Like any procedure, as you get older, I am 63, it can take time to get excellent vision. Deepak reassures you, and explains everything.  I am more than happy to share my experience with any new candidates for the surgery. The aftercare I received was again excellent.  I will also be thankful for Deepak giving me excellent vision.
Anne O’C (Wirral)  
…wow! what a great result! 34 years with spectacles and now 20:20 vision! AND given up smoking to boot! Well worth it!
Roy A  
Not the most pleasant surgery experience I’ve ever been subjected to but wow! What a great result! 34 years with spectacles and now 20-20 vision and given up smoking to boot! Well worth it!
Roy A  
I had ICL in March 2013 and my only regret is not doing it before then! The procedure was completely painless and so quick with immediate results. After being shortsighted for just over 30 years it was brilliant to wake up and be able to see without glasses or contact lens again! Now there’s no need to pack numerous packs of disposable contact lenses in a suitcase when going on holiday, no need to worry about blurred vision in a swimming pool or the sea or even have to think about putting in contact lenses when eyes are feeling tired – my eyes look so much brighter and healthier now. I would wholeheartedly recommend it without any hesitation!
Jennifer P (London)   
I had worn glasses for a long as I can remember and got contact lenses when I turned 17 years of age. I have always hated wearing glasses and being a very active person with hobbies such as snowboarding, visiting theme parks and water parks, even wearing contact lenses was ‘getting me down’ as they always seemed to be in the way and prevented me enjoying my activities. I had considered laser eye surgery when I turned 20 years of age but at that point in my life I did not want to proceed. My sister in law had laser eye surgery in 2012. This motivated me to research t for myself. I now work in a nursery and often had problems with the children reaching for and pulling my glasses. I also found that I was wearing my contact lenses for more than 12 hours a day which started to cause some irritation to my eyes. My mother recommended Mr Chitkara at Viewpoint Vision. I made an appointment with him in August 2013 with a view to having laser eye surgery. When the consultation was over I was informed that I was not suitable to have laser treatment and that contact lens implants were recommended. I was heartbroken as I had accepted that I was going to have laser surgery and that my glasses and contact lenses were ‘going’. After much discussion with family and friends I decided that I needed to do something. My family agreed to help with the payment so I again spoke to Mr Chitkara and my contact lens implant surgery was scheduled for late October as this coincided with my holiday from nursery. On the day of the surgery I was apprehensive but the care from Mr Chitkara and the team was fantastic. During the surgery he was very reassuring and understanding putting me at ease. Mr Chitkara is so pleasant and easy to speak to. Nothing is too much for him. He explains everything in a way that is easy to understand. He makes sure that all doubts, concerns and questions are answered. Appointments were made to suit me which was really good as I did not need time off work. The aftercare has been excellent. I still have excellent aftercare and health checks on my eyes- all part of the package. I have been very satisfied with the treatment and benefits of having this surgery. I would highly recommend Mr Chitkara and his team. My only regret is not having it done sooner as it is one of the best things I have ever done. Thank you so much for the excellent service.
Sarah N (St Helens)  
Brilliant treatment from start to finish. I would recommend this doctor 100% to anyone. Brilliant eyesight.
Susan R (Cheshire)  
We would like to say how much we appreciated the care and consideration you have shown to us over the past few months. We both had refractive lens implants this has freed us both from wearing spectacles, we can now go out and buy ‘nice sun glasses’, instead of prescription spectacles this is so refreshing not to be having to wear specs all the time. We can now see what the time is first thing in the morning without searching for and groping aimlessly for specs on bedside table, ha ha! When we visited your clinic in St Helens and Southport we were always treated with such respect and courtesy, your team is fantastic and e appreciate this as I (Chris) was extremely nervous of the procedure and you reassured me. Colin was not nervous at all was completely confident in everything that was done. You were reassuring and patient with both of us. It did take longer than we thought due to choice and circumstances all of which was overcome eventually, considering that Colin has Macular Degeneration he is extremely pleased with the results. On the negative side of things we both suffer from slight glare problems. In Colin’s case this is due to other circumstances but we find wearing sunglasses in bright sunlight helps. We would like to say a big thank you to you and your team and wish you all the very best.
Colin and Chris N   
I had surgery in April 2013. I had varifocal lenses and had needed glasses since the age of 8. Since developing cataracts I had researched procedures for lens replacement which could offer more than fixed distance correction. It was not a decision undertaken lightly and I can say that the care I received was excellent. It has taken me time to accustom to the bright headlights but my vision is very good and I no longer wear glasses even to thread needles at night. Good after care, treatment and pleased.
John McC  
I had refractive lens exchange in June 2013. I was very long sighted and had to wear glasses for reading and close work I needed to do. I was always misplacing my glasses and found it very frustrating. So I decided to look into different eye ops. Refractive lens exchange seemed to be my best option. I was apprehensive about the op as your eyes are very precious part of your life. No need to have worried no injections just a few drops in each eye. I felt no pain whatsoever during the op after the op and now I have discarded my glasses. Can see clearly to drive and even to read small print again. I would definitely recommend the op to any one.
John M (Wigan)  

The technical side of things

I am 60 years old and have been increasingly myopic since early teens, now with around -­‐6D in one eye and -­‐4D in the other. Presbyopia (“old-­‐age far-­‐sightedness”) had advanced to the extent that I had to constantly swap glasses, since my lifestyle required good vision for distant, medium and close distances at different times.  Also, the fact that my right and left eyes differed meant that I could not buy non-­‐prescription reading glasses for close work. Having researched on the web several months beforehand, I had a reasonably good idea of what surgical options were available, and had decided to opt for a “premium lens” of one form or another. After discussion with the specialist (Mr. Chitkara), it was decided that a dual-­‐focus Human Optics lens replacement (RLE) would best fit my lifestyle. The factors that were most important for me were 1) Having a stable near-­‐ and far-­‐vision for the remainder of my life 2) Good enough vision for driving and reading without glasses and 3) Being able to buy off-­‐the-­‐ shelf reading glasses to provide differing degrees of close-­‐up focus. The operation itself was without mishap. The most challenging part was getting accustomed to the very intense illumination that was required for the surgeon to work through his microscope. Even though my eyeballs themselves were anaesthetized, the eyelids had a mind of their own and I did struggle for a minute or so until I could keep them open while at the same time not tensing my neck and face. However the surgeon (Mr Chitkara) acted understandingly and calmed me with a jovial remark. Directly after the operation, I am glad that a friend could “hold my hand” whilst travelling back to my residence. It was impossible to do things like reading bus numbers and using my mobile phone until the afternoon of the following day. On the second day after the operation I could manage those actions without too much difficulty. For about a week I wore sunglasses for most of the day (a tip: buy some beforehand!) and used the shields provided by the hospital when sleeping. I soon purchased some industrial protective glasses that I now use whenever I do any kind of DIY or other work that could potentially involve particles or objects getting in my eyes. Having worn glasses for over 40 years has meant that I had always taken that protection for granted. The lenses themselves perform as well as I expected. I was prepared for the trade-­‐offs that are inherent when having two focal points in one lens. These tradeoffs are the reason why it is necessary for Viewpoint (via the questionnaires) to formally record that each patient’s expectations are in line with what is physically possible with the chosen procedure. Daytime, there is a certain amount of haloing from bright lights such as headlamps, and noticeably reduced contrast compared with before the operation. In all fairness, this haloing is less than what I experienced at night with contact lenses many years ago. In low-­‐light conditions, the near focus is hardly functional, so bedtime reading requires moderate lighting. Both these effects are a small price to pay for the huge benefits I gained from the RLEs. One tradeoff that I was less prepared for was the rapid defocussing that occurs just outside the near focus (i.e. further than 40cm away). This makes it difficult to use a computer monitor that normally is around 60-­‐70 cm away. However, the only situation when I use such an external screen (rather than a laptop) is in my office. I therefore bought a pair of cheap 1.5D “reading glasses” to have there (and also a pair in my travelling bag in case I’m on a business trip). These give me a far focus at around 65 cm, which is perfect. One interesting point that I have not seen mentioned previously in any peer reviews or medical papers, is the added advantage of reading glasses for close-­‐up work when you have a multi-­‐ focal lens. The fact that I always have two focal points means that with my 1.5D glasses I can both look at a computer monitor (65cm away) and also do close-­‐up hobby work (25cm). And since hobby work often necessitates eye protection, I need to have glasses (of some kind) on anyway during that time! I’d like to pass on to other patients some advice on buying beforehand a couple of things they may need (like me): Firstly, since my eyes became much more sensitive to bright light I needed to quickly buy a couple of pairs of sunglasses (one very dark, one less “extreme”). Secondly, my eyes get irritated and itchy after sitting still (in front of a computer or book); lubricating eye drops available at the chemist alleviates this.

The softer (human) side of things

Before choosing the clinic that I would entrust with my eye operation, I sent the same initial enquiry letter to two UK clinics. One was Viewpoint, since I had found out that Mr. Chitkara was one of the eye specialists in Europe having the longest documented experience of premium lens RLE surgery. The other was a large well-­‐advertised clinic in the South of England. My letter outlined the present state and challenges of my vision, mentioned an RLE product that I had read about, and asked for initial contact with a view to subsequently booking a consultation. Within hours of receiving my letter, Mr. Chitkara phoned me. He took time to follow my trains of thought regarding RLE products that I had read about, and then outlined some of his own experiences in that context. After the 20 minutes or so that the call took, I felt I had received an impartial and well-­‐balanced reply to my major questions and concerns. One particular detail that I found compelling was that the cost of the operation included any post-­‐operative correction that might be necessary. From the other clinic, I received a generic email reply after a day or two. By “generic” I mean a standard reply that was probably sent to hundreds of prospective clients each week. I called and asked to speak to a specialist, and was told that this was not possible since their specialists were too busy with operations and medical conferences. I was required to book a consultation, however they were pleased to be able to post me a large assortment of brochures and price lists. I did note that the price in most cases did not include any follow-­‐up work. On the basis of these two responses, I chose Viewpoint after some pondering. The feedback from them continued in the same spirit as it started – impartial and respectful. I am a direct and pragmatic person by nature, and I found Mr Chitkara to be of a similar nature. This speeded up our mutual decision process with regard to the exact choice of treatment, and at the same time maintained my high confidence during the ongoing “journey to better sight” (to use Mr. Chitkara’s analogy). Now, two months after treatment and with the hindsight of my experiences, I would like to express my hearty appreciation of the quality and professionalism that was offered to me by Viewpoint.
John S  
My consultation was absolutely hospitable and enjoyable. I wish I knew this man before because I went elsewhere and did not receive adequate help even though I paid fees, causing me so much stress. The operation was easy, painless and all through the process DR Chitkara and staff were very friendly and reassuring. This has changed my life completely now my sight is restored. Dr Chitkara even phoned me after surgery at home to make sure I was doing well. I can’t say enough how I appreciate his service and kindness.
Amare G   
Much better now I don’t have to wear Glasses. Pain free operation and good aftercare.
John M (Wigan)   
I had refractive lens exchange. I never thought I would be brave enough- but I need not have worried. It was a very professional , efficient and reassuring experience. The surgery was pain free, with no injections. The results are outstanding. To be free of glasses and contact lenses is a relief. I’m very pleased. Thank you so much.
Ellen M  
I had refractive lens Exchange in June 2013. I was very long sighted and had to wear reading glasses and nay close work I needed to do I was always misplacing my glasses and found it very frustrating. So I needed to look into different eye ops. Refractive Lens Exchnage seemed to be my best option. I was apprehensive about the op as your eyes are very precious part of your life. No need to have worried no injections just a few drops in each eye. I felt no pain whatsoever during or after the op and now I have discarded my glasses. Can see clearly to drive and even read small print again. I would definitely recommend the op to anyone.
John M  
A very professional team who did a great job from start to finish. Mr Chitkara is an excellent surgeon who provided an excellent service. I wish that I had laser treatment sooner.
Mark M  
I had surgery in April 2013. I used varifocal lenses and needed glasses since the age of 8. Since developing cataracts I had researched procedures for lens replacement which could offer more than fixed distance correction. It was not a decision undertaken lightly and I can say that the care I received was excellent. It has taken me time to accustom to the bright headlights but my vision is very good and I no longer wear glasses even to thread needles at night. Good after care treatment and pleased.
John McC   
I am totally satisfied with the treatment I have received. I was made to feel at ease and received comprehensive information and the after care was extensive. PS I would like to return annually for a comprehensive eye test.
I had ICL in March 2013 and my only regret is not doing it before then! The procedure was completely painless and so quick with immediate results. After being shortsighted for just over 30 years it was brilliant to wake up and be able to see without glasses or contact lens again! Now there’s no need to pack numerous packs of disposable contact lenses in a suitcase when going on holiday, no need to worry about blurred vision in a swimming pool or the sea or even have to think about putting in contact lenses when eyes are feeling tired – my eyes look so much brighter and healthier now. I would wholeheartedly recommend it without any hesitation!
Jennifer P  
Where do I start with my gratitude? As I sit here at the laptop, looking at the screen without the need for glasses or contacts, words fail me. Its been perhaps just over a month since I had my Implantable Contact lens therapy and still I am at awe over it all. Having the ICL surgery was the best decision I’ve ever made. Obviously I had my doubts at first. Fear of the surgery itself let alone any possible aftermath was all consuming but once I was in the more capable and comforting hands of the team, I knew everything was going to be fine. The excitement is still lingering today! I have my eyes back so to speak. I wake up in the morning and its up-and-go. Coming home from work and I don’t have the tired dry eyes from continuous wear and tear of contacts. The convenience of it all reflects in the health of my eyes. Thanks will never be enough: not only for the surgery but for looking after me so well and all your kindness. To anyone having doubts, don’t. coming from a person who was not so long ago in your position, I can truly say I have never looked back. Its unbelievable the difference a tiny implantable lens can make. Thanks to Dr Chitkara and the team.
Fariha B  
Incredibly pleased decided to have the surgery. Received excellent care throughout from Dr Chitkara. Highly recommended.
Lukas W (Dukinfield)  
Thanks for the brilliant Service that you provided when you did my LASIK eye surgery. Professional throughout from consultation to follow up service. Not to mention the brilliant results. I am now able to do my job as a teacher with lots more confidence (I can now actually see the work that the children produce) Thanks again
Mark M  
Excellent service – Highly recommended
Susan C (Doncaster)   
Brilliant treatment from start to finish. I would recommend this doctor 100% to anyone. Brilliant eye sight.
Suasan R   
I had laser surgery on 21/06/2011 and had to undergo a further procedure to improve my near vision on 04/04/2012. I am absolutely delighted with the results and still cannot believe I do not have to wear glasses. I am so grateful to Mr Chitkara who suggested a further procedure in order to achieve the best possible results.
Ita M  
Very pleased with overall experience. Made to feel at ease and well informed. Surgery went much better and much more comfortable than expected and I am very satisfied with the outcome. Thank you.
Michael T  
Extremely pleased with the outcome of my surgery. 100% satisfied and glad I had it. I’ve recommended Viewpoint to the brother in law. So cant say any more than that!
Tony D  
I was first introduced to Mr. Chitkara in October of 2003. My wife was first introduced by her optician since she was unable to wear contact lenses due to an eye infection. Since she was unwilling to face a lifetime of wearing spectacles, he was keen to explore the possibility of lens replacement surgery. She had both eyes operated upon simultaneously shortly afterwards, and the procedure was very successful. I had severe longsight and had worn contact lenses for 25 years. I was so impressed by the result of her operation that I asked Mr. Chitkara . if I would be suitable for similar refractive surgery. My initial consultation was very detailed and thorough. It was clear that Mr. Chitkara had all the latest equipment. Being a surgeon myself . I was very keen to have full details of the implants, which would be inserted. I was shown a film of the operation , and I was reassured by the excellence of the technique. My operation was carried out under general anesthetic , and both eyes were treated at the same time. Upon waking from the anesthetic. I was very surprised to see the television on the wall of my bedroom. I was allowed home the next day , and it was all my wife could do to prevent me from driving home. The following day , I did undertake a motorway journey with her by my side. The accommodation of my eyes slowly improved over the first week. I lost only one day from my office.I can honestly say that this operation has changed my life. Prior to surgery , I had a restricted pilot's license. A few months after the operation, the civil aviation authority , awarded me a full license without the need for me to carry spare spectacles. I am a keen amateur musician , and I can read music unaided in most lighting conditions. It is very useful appeal to read music , and watch the conductor at the same time. This is always difficult, wearing reading glasses. I have recommended several of my friends to Mr. Chitkara for the same operation and would not hesitate to do so again. I have been asked to counsel, prospective patients in the past , and would be willing to do so in the future."
Michael C. (Consultant Surgeon)  
I had refractive lens exchange surgery on 16 November 2007. I say that date so clearly as it is a date I shall never forget and my life was totally changed. I am still thrilled each morning when I first peep open my eyes and can SEE. No more bumbling about looking for specs to use until I got up properly and put in my contact lens. For over 37 years these contact lens had been my "eyes" and cannot tell you what a release it is not to have to deal with them or consider them. But best of all, is the fantastic vision that I now have. I am still surprised with the new intensity of colours - that was a totally unexpected bonus. My sight is superb with details apparent to me that I never noticed before. All of this was through the efforts of Mr Deepak Chitkara at Viewpoint Vision. He is totally professional but was also very good at giving me the necessary information to give me the confidence to undergo this operation. Great job, Deepak, thank you very much!
Barbara B, Wiltshire  
I wanted to cry I was so happy!!” I would like to say a huge Thank you to Dr Chitkara and his team for the treatment I received at Viewpoint. I had ICL surgery after being told I was not suitable for Laser surgery. Dr Chitkara explained everything fully and in a way I understood simply, the reasons behind not being about to have laser and the procedures of ICL. I am amazed by the results ICL has changed my life!! All the staff in St Helens are lovely and made me feel very reassured being in theatre although the procedure itself is very strange and a little uncomfortable it is not painful and I felt happy with the treatment. I could not believe that after about 15 minutes surgery time I could see!! I went in blind guided by staff and with my eyes all dropped up so it was big blur and quite scary but afterwards I could see the second hand on the clock on the wall ticking!! I wanted to cry I was so happy!! To anyone considering ICL or any other treatment with Dr Chitkara I would recommend him 100%, he is a lovely man, a brilliant ophthalmic surgeon, very professional and has changed my life! Amazing, I travelled from London to see Dr Chitkara as I had done a bit of research and he stood out as one of the best and I don’t believe you should compromise anything but the best for your eyes. I am now able to see better than 20:20 and think I even surprised Dr Chitkara when I had my check up 8 weeks later. I cannot thank Dr Chitkara enough. He is an amazing man and I received the best possible treatment.
Holly R (London)  
I would like to say a huge thank you to dr Chitkara and his team for the treatment I received at viewpoint. I had ICL surgery after being told I was not suitable for laser surgery. Dr Chitkara explained everything fully and in a way I understood simply, the reasons behind not being about to have laser and the procedures of ICL. I am amazed by the results ICL has changed my life!! All the staff in st Helen's are lovely and made me feel very reassured being in theatre, although the procedure itself is very strange and a little uncomfortable it is not painful and I felt happy with the treatment, I could not believe that after about 15minutes surgery time I could see!! I went in blind guided by staff and with my eyes all dropped up so it was a big blur and quite scary but afterwards I could see the second hand on the clock on the wall ticking!! I wanted to cry I was so happy!! To anyone considering ICL or any other treatment with dr Chitkara I would recommend him 100% he is a lovely man, a brilliant ophthalmic surgeon, very professional and has changed my life! Amazing. I travelled from London to see dr Chitkara as I had done a bit of research and he stood out as one of the best and I don't believe you should compromise anything but the best with your eyes. I am now able to see better than 20:20 and think I even surprised dr.chitkara when I had my check up 8weeks later. I can not thanks dr.chitkara enough. He is an amazing man and I received the best possible treatment :-)
H Randles  
A very professional team who did a great job from start to finish. Mr Chitkara is an excellent surgeon who provided and excellent service. I wish that I had laser treatment sooner.
Mark M  
Mr Chitkara performed Lens replacement surgery on my eyes in early March, after only 6 weeks my vision is fantastic. I would like to thank Mr Chitkara and his team for a great job.
Tony B  
On Monday 23rd April I had lens replacement surgery. This has got to be one of the best things I have decided to have done. I now have my vision back. I never dreamed it would be as good as this… don’t even need reading glasses…Ha ha ..have become a bit of a clean freak now though as I can now see every speck of dirt! Deepak kept me informed at all times what was going to happen and the service he offers is fantastic. I have already recommended Viewpoint to many of my friends.
Sara C (Sheffield)  
lesley g It all happens very quickly, perhaps 5 -10 minutes per eye and then you are back in your room. There is absolutely no pain at all as the eyes are under topical anesthetic.... I just wish I hadn't worried so much before the operation as it was such a simple procedure. I think I worried so much because it was my eyes and they are so precious.....Mr. Chitkara came to my room about 1 hour after surgery and lifted my eye pads. I was asked if I could see anything. There was a clock on the wall and I was asked if I could tell the time. I was able to tell him that it was 11 am. I honestly could not believe that I could see so soon.
Lesley G, Isle of Man  
Excellent service. Mr Chitkara is always available  by phone if any queries.
Jon W (Northwich, Cheshire)  
Absolutely fantastic. I have better than 20/20 vision. I was extremely anxious about having surgery. Deepak was very reassuring- he is an excellent surgeon.
Carol G, Stoke on Trent  
Excellent procedure. Highly delighted with the vast improvement of my vision. A highly experienced Consultant Depak makes the whole process fantastic and I am so glad I had the procedure.
Patricia S (Stockport)   
I would like to thank Mr Chitkara and his team for making my ICL procedure a success. I am an electrical engineer and have to read schematic drawings and use many HMI screens so glasses weren’t really an option for me. The procedure was totally painless with no needles and carried out in a relaxing and stress free manner. From parking the care to leaving the hospital after the operation was only three and half hours approximately. The procedure restored both my near and far sight. If any one wants to know more information about my experience I would be happy for them to contact me by telephone.
Terry C (Liverpool)  
Excellent service and results.
SG  
Excellent, would highly recommend
Leanne S (Solihull)  
Exceeded my expectations. Very thorough and good explanation of risks.
Peter McH   
Staff Really Friendly – explained everything clearly, really put me at ease. Cannot believe the amazing results. Could see clearly 4 hours after surgery. Well worth the money – Best thing ever.
Emma B (Huyton)  
Very pleased with the results. Excellent service. Felt confident with the treatment. Was very impressed with Mr Chitkara and staff and very pleased to have received a phone call the day after surgery enquiring how I was feeling.
Susan J (Manchester)  
Every aspect of my treatment has been excellent and Dr Chitkara and Anne have gone out of their way to make me feel comfortable at every step of the process.
Emma McG (Liverpool)  
Top class service and made to feel at ease ended up with 20/20 vision. Had my eyes done at 2pm and I was in Wetherspoons at 7pm. 
Adrian P  
Earlier this year I was made redundant from work with some of the money I received I decided to have laser surgery as my eyesight had deteriorated so much I was practically wearing glasses all the time. A work colleague of my wifes recommended Viewpoint so I made and appointment for a consultation with Mr Chitkara. We discussed my options, in my case he couldn’t guarantee how long the laser treatment would last so I opted for RLE. It was explained to me that there would be an element of compromise in the treatment. I told Mr Chitkara I wanted good near sight as I spent most of my time on computers and hated wearing glasses in work. I had the treatment in May this year, my wife drove me home from the hospital that evening and we waited with expectation. I can clearly remember that night brushing my teeth before I went to bed, out of the corner of my eye I could see the letter H on the hot tap something I hadn’t seen without my glasses for years. At that point I knew something special was about to happen. The next day my wife put a piece of paper in front of me, we were both amazed when I started reading the smallest print on the page. Is there a downside? Well in my case I still need to wear glasses for driving at night but I was told by Mr Chitkara this may be the case. Would I recommend the treatment? “You bet” its fantastic not wearing glasses in work or watching TV. Deepak and the team were fantastic and I hae nothing but admiration and respect.
Ian H (Merseyside)   
I would like to express my thanks to Deepak and Anne for an outstanding service. Viewpoint Vision has an exceptionally professional approach when dealing with their patients. From the initial point of contact right through to the follow-up consultations the communication has been and continues to be excellent. Deepak is an extremely nice man and has the ability to make you feel at ease in what can be worrying situations. Having your eye operated on can be a daunting experience for anybody, but Deepak's calm and professional approach reassured me and it was obvious he had vast experience in his field. Procedures are fully explained, supported by the high-tech equipment available at the clinic. Having had Keratoconus diagnosed at the age of 17, and being partially sighted in one eye from birth, I was eager to find out further options that may benefit me. Deepak was able to offer me a few options to aid my situation, and I made a personal choice to go for Intac implants. The procedure was carried out to the highest standard, and the quality of the follow up appointments are of credit to the team at Viewpoint. I have seen an improvement in the vision, and no longer have to wear hard contact lenses to achieve clear 20/20 vision. I am please with the results, and thanks Viewpoint for their hard work. I would be happy to commend the services at Viewpoint to any friends and family.
Paul C, Wigan  
Having worn glasses from the age of three, being very short sighted with minus 10.5 in one eye and minus 10 in the other, my options were limited- risk damaging what remained of my sight through laser surgery or try a new procedure, implants. After researching what information was available on the internet, I contacted the Viewpoint clinic to arrange a consultation. I met with Mr. Chitkara and was informed about the procedure and given time to go away and think about having the operation done. Now nearly five years on, having my eye sight corrected and having fulfilled a life long dream of becoming a Police Officer, I can safely say that, I did not, have not and never will regret choosing to have the procedure done. Thanks again Deepak.. 
Louis B, Bolton  
It has been a week now since my surgery (refractive lens Exchange) and I am thrilled with my excellent vision. After wearing glasses which I hated and persevering with contact lenses, I decided to look into laser/surgical options. I am not impulsive and after much research realized that with my degree of longsightedness that laser correction was not an option for me. But there were alternatives and I hoped I would be suitable for any of the lens exchange procedures although I was apprehensive as this sounded much more invasive. I found out that the “high Street” vision correction centres have a similar way of working – laser treatment can be done at these centres but lens implants/exchanges are carried out in hospital. That being the case I decided to go directly to the private sector and find a suitably qualified ophthalmic surgeon for myself. I also welcomed the idea that all pre op checks would be carried out by that surgeon. I was so very fortunate to find exactly what I was looking for when I contacted Viewpoint and was given an appointment a few days later to see Mr Deepak Chitkara. After a thorough assessment I was so relieved to hear that I was suitable for a particular type of lens exchange explaining why that particular one was most suitable for me. I also opted to have both eyes done in one operation with only one period off work. Of course I had lots of questions and considering it was Friday evening was not hurried away. His PA Anne promised to contact me when we could get a date for surgery. I was booked in for the following week which was ideal for me as I didn’t want to wait too long. I needn’t have had any fears at all about the procedure – there was minimal discomfort after surgery and I could see a lot better. The staff at Oaklands Hospital were very professional but also kind and supportive. Deepak came to see me after the op and reassured me that all went well. Now one week later I am still overwhelmed with how well I can see. In fact my vision is still improving. I only took a few days off work. My first day back was amazing – road testing eyes without glasses. I didn’t even need reading glasses I had on standby for close work. Everything seems so much brighter as some colours are now enhanced. I have threaded a needle without glasses for the first time in 20 years – what an achievement. There are also still things to look forward to – swimming and being able to see other swimmers, going on holiday without lenses, solutions, prescription sunglasses, etc. I m so lucky to have been able to have this done but I am so grateful for the skills of such surgeons like Mr Chitkara. I made the best choice ever.
Chris J  
Fantastic! Had apprehension about op being completely successful. Nothing to worry about. Everyone was friendly, caring and professional. Do not need glasses at all. Thank you to everyone involved.
Wendy H - Bolton  
I cannot describe how thrilled I am at the transformation of my sight! Having worn contact lenses for over thirty years, it is wonderful to have "unaided" vision again. Excellent service in every way. 
Shena L, Sandbach  
Words cannot express my overwhelming experience of Viewpoint Vision, it started a few weeks ago when I decided to take the plunge and get rid of my glasses. I have been wearing glasses for over 30 years and I actually hated wearing them as they was always in the way when playing sports etc. After the consultation Deepak went through the procedures that was offered to me and I opted for the Refractive Lens Exchange with Accommadating Lenses. On the day of the surgery nerves kicked in but I dont know why, as I didnt hardly feel anything and it was done within 5 to 10 minutes. Deepak was so professional throughout the process. The next morning I could see but not so clearly and vision was a bit blurred, but during the day it got clearer. The next morning, it was perfect. It has been 6 weeks now since I had surgery and my vision is more than perfect. The lenses I had were Lenstec, Softec HD in both eyes and now i can say that I see in High Definition now. I can now see colours sharper and crisper than ever before, the question I have for myself is, why did I not do this a lot earlier?. To you guys who are contemplating to have this procedure done, I say is dont hold back and just go for it. Best move I ever made.
K. Jassal, Telford  
Just a line to say a very big thank you for the unbelievable transformation the surgery carried out on 19th April has made to my life. Such a simple procedure from the patient’s point of view with no pain, no discomfort during the procedure. I am truly impressed and grateful to you and your team for the excellent care and professionalism. I am still amazed that just ten minutes after the operation I was able to read print that I had previously been unable to read for the past 15 years … remarkable and bordering on miraculous!!
Jeff W  
Thank you so much for your hard work in treating my eyes, its made all the difference in the world not having to go through the trouble and stress of wearing contact lenses or losing and finding my glasses! I was very confident in your work and I am even happier that my eyes are fine even though I didn’t come and see you after the surgery, that shows how much confidence I had in you! I just hope my eyesight remains good for several years. I have an appointment in January and look forward to seeing your self and having a nice chat with Anne. Thank you again.
Rubena A  
I would like to thank everyone at viewpoint for the wonderful treatment I have had over the past 2 years. A special thank you to Deepak for giving me perfect sight for the first time in my life. It is a wonderful feeling to wake up in the morning and be able to see. I just wish this would have happened years ago. Once again thank you and I salute you Deepak for your wonderful skills.
Bernadette S - Manchester  
After years of wearing glasses Viewpoint have now got my eye sight to a point where I do not need glasses anymore. The team and aftercare, after 2 successful operations have been outstanding. Thank you very, very much for changing my life for the better.
Jeffrey M - Blackpool  
Absolutely wonderful. I love my new eyes. Would definitely recommend Viewpoint to anyone. The team are spot on. Brilliant aftercare. Have it done.
Laura S - Manchester  
Prior to going ahead with my laser eye surgery I thoroughly investigated various clinics and chose viewpoint vision based on its reputation and the expertise of the surgeons. I had my surgery in April '07 and I am extremely pleased with the result. The procedure only took a few minutes on each eye and a few hours later I could see clearly. Such a simple procedure has made a huge difference to me. It was well worth it, and the aftercare has been great. The staff at viewpoint always made me feel comfortable and they are very professional. I have already recommended viewpoint vision to friends and family, my advice is - if you want to live life without the hassle of glasses, then go for it at viewpoint.
Melisena M - Manchester  
My name is John. And I would like to take a few minutes of your time to let you know about the recent eye surgery I had which has completely changed my way of life. A few months ago my daily life existed only with the use of contact lenses or glasses. As soon as I woke up been able t o properly function meant putting on specs and when leaving the house putting in my specially made contact lenses, this necessity has been part of my daily routine for the past 30 years and although annoying its something that I needed to function so I just got on with it. Every year I would replace my lenses and glasses at considerable cost and I would ask the optician if they knew of any procedures that could correct my vision, but was told that nothing would ever fix it as the script was so high. Jus before Christmas 2008 I visited a new optician as lost a lens and wanted new glasses during that we catted about numerous things including how I would love to be lens and spec free. It was then that he told me about Deepak and his revolutionary surgery that could possibly help me, he said he would give him a call and give him my details. I visited his clinic in Manchester in early Jan ‘09 and after a consultation was informed that he could correct my defective sight with a procedure called Intraocular lens replacement. Although I was little skeptical at the time, I took away all the literature and did a bit of research on the internet to satisfy myself. Dr Chitkara said that the procedure would leave me able to carry out my daily tasks without the need for lenses or prescription glasses although he did stress that I may nee reading glasses for close work. I booked in for surgery in February and was operated on at the Birkdale clinic in Liverpool and it was a total success. I now have perfect vision in both eyes and the aftercare I received and continue to receive is second to none. Me Chitkara is an extremely skilled surgeon and very understanding of his client’s needs. I would recommend him to anyone who is serious about correcting their vision and would like to say in my humble opinion he is a genius.
John McT   
Unfortunately, I have had experience with two other ophthalmic surgeons and their clinics who came highly recommended. I had a lens replacement in my right eye with very poor results. The lens had to be replaced by another surgeon but again the results were disappointing. Deepak has now corrected this eye and done the lens exchange in y left eye. The results are brilliant. The personal care has been exceptional and his expectations are very high. The lens Deepak used has been free of all complications and I am in the sorry position to have compared 3 types firsthand! I only wish I had gone to Viewpoint from the start. Thanks as well to Anne for all her help.
Daniel P  
I had my surgery on 5th September 2008> I wanted to broaden my career opportunities therefore required 20/20 vision. Having discussed laser eye surgery I was recommended to go to Viewpoint. I had a consultation with Dr Chitkara and we discussed my eyes and possible surgeries. I must say I was a little nervous at first but eventually went ahead with it. The surgery went well and I was very impressed with the results. I couldn’t believe it! I must say the staff are very friendly and the service is excellent. Laser correction has deeply changed my life and has opened up more opportunities for me. All thanks to Dr Deepak K Chitkara and staff.
Usman P  
I have just had surgery and feel that the lens implants are a valuable investment in my future. My eyesight for close reading was deteriorating but now I can read even small print without glasses. Distance vision has also improved dramatically. The service from Deepak and Anne was excellent. The staff and service at the hospital was very high too. Many thanks to you all.
Alison R   
I had surgery with Boots 4 years ago and my eyes were never perfect. I am a perfectionist and Mr Chitkara was very understanding of this. He was realistic with his expectations, he didn’t coerce me with my decision he merely provided me with all the data and factual information I required and allowed me to make my own decision. I only had a slight prescription which I am led to believe is the most difficult to correct because there is hardly any margin for error. Mr Chitkara took my prescription on several occasions and made sure that both I and himself were comfortable with the measured prescription. He was very patient and reassuring and once I had opted for the surgery he made me feel confident. The surgery lasted a couple of minutes at most, the hygiene standards were phenomenal and his team were well versed. I had absolutely no pain whatsoever. I awoke the next day and my vision was no different which I found disappointing. Over the next month I noticed a gradual improvement. It is now 3 months post surgery and I am happy with my eyes. They are now perfect and with my expectations that is a superb result. I would happily recommend Mr Chitkara to any one of my friends or family.
Brian P-  
I didn’t know about this website so when I decided to take the plunge and get rid of the specs and contacts for ever, I asked my optician’s advice. She said that at Viewpoint I would be assessed, advised and treated by the same person – someone fully qualified to do so. I’m pleased to say she was right but what she couldn’t know was just how personal the service really is – totally professional and yet relaxed and friendly. Deepak Chitkara puts the patient at ease with his manner, his genuine concern (he will ring you before and after treatment to check you are OK) and his professionalism. I found the treatment to be a strange experience, but completely painless and the slight discomfort afterwards is no worse than that experienced if I’d worn contact lenses for too long in my very dry eyes. Less than 3 weeks after my treatment, my eyes are fine. I can see colours I never knew existed (must get the carpet cleaned) and I can both see in the distance and read in any conditions. My minus fives are now 20/20s and even the spec induced grooves down the sides of my nose are fading. This was my 50th birthday present to myself, albeit a few months late, and if truth be known I spent a small pension on it that probably should have been invested elsewhere, but, what the heck. What price perfect eyesight for someone who’s been short-sighted since the age of twelve? As you can probably gather, I’m not just happy with Viewpoint Vision and Mr Chitkara, I’m ecstatic!
Juliana G  
Mr Chitkara performed this operation on me back in 1999 and it has been an unqualified success. Mr Chitkara is an excellent surgeon and the follow up treatment and consultations have been superb. I would not hesitate to recommend Mr Chitkara to any one.
Peter T  
Mr Chitkara performed LASIK surgery on my right eye last year. The left had already been treated by PRK at another clinic around eight years ago. This was not a pleasant experience so therefore put me off having the other eye treated until I was introduced to Mr Chitkara. The difference was amazing. He immediately put me at ease and explained the procedure in detail and gave me a thorough examination. I had no qualms then and decided to have the treatment. This went smoothly too with minimal discomfort. The after-care has been great too. Mr Chitkara even rang me the same evening after the procedure to make sure I was OK. I would recommend anyone who is considering laser eye surgery to contact Mr Chitkara for a consultation.
Shirley D  
I was recommended to Viewpoint Vision by a friend, who had exactly the same procedure as myself. I have to say from start to finish I was not disappointed receiving first class treatment and service all the way through. The procedure was explained thoroughly to me leaving no doubt to what would be happening. There was contact available 24 hours a day if there was any worries following the procedure. The results for me were instant. I was driving 24 hours following the operation. If you are considering eye surgery I would certainly talk to Viewpoint Vision who I have to say have improved my quality of life. I would certainly recommend Viewpoint Vision – excellent service and after care.
Ian G  
I had refractive lens exchange on 16 November 2007. I say that date so clearly as it is a date I shall never forget and my life was totally changed. I am still thrilled each morning when I first peep open my eyes and SEE. No more bumbling about looking for specs to use until I got up properly and put in my contact lens. For over 37 years these contact lens had been my ‘eyes’ and cannot tell you what a release it is not to have to deal with them or consider them. But best of all, is the fantastic vision I now have. I am still surprised with the new intensity of colours – that was a totally unexpected bonus. My sight is superb with details apparent to me that I never noticed before. All of this was through the efforts of Mr Deepak Chitkara at Viewpoint Vision. He is totally professional but also very good at giving me the necessary information to give me the confidence to undergo this operation. Great job, Deepak, Thank you very much! I have just returned from my latest check up and remain delighted with my new eyes! Just this morning as I awoke I wondered at the marvel of seeing properly first thing. Deepak offers a full follow up service which leaves one feeling completely confident that you made the right choice.
Barbara B  
The whole process was friendly, professional and painless. Dr Chitkara, Mr Nylander and all the staff who dealt with me were very helpful. 3 months after I was discharged my eyesight began to get worse so I contacted Dr Chitkara and went to a consultation and he found the membranes holding the new lenses had started healing over my new lenses so he lasered them (which again was painless and took minutes) with no extra charge and my eyesight is good as new again. Altogether a first class service. Thank you all at Viewpoint Vision.
Andy R  
I opted for local anaesthetic and must admit nerves kicked in on the day of operation. I should not have worried. ...... No pain, No long drawn out operation, No problem. My vision now feels better than with contact lenses However as explained I will need glasses for very close work. I have worn glasses since I was 11 years old. Why did I wait so long (now 56) for refractive surgery?
Jim G from Yorkshire  
A very professional outfit. I am very pleased with the results. Thank you.
Andy R - Lancashire  
Excellent service throughout. Very professional and caring. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks
Shahed D - Cheshire  
Thank you so much for all your care and attention and for "setting me free"
Sue V - Lancashire  
I had wanted corrective surgery for many years and had always been told that my eyes were too badly damaged to achieve my desired outcome of improved vision.. I had recently heard that significant developments were being made in the field of lens exchange and that now may be with my vision could improve. I was desperate , my eyesight was getting worse and impacting on my lifestyle in a big way. I went to one clinic and after testing they informed me that they couldn’t help. I was so disappointed and tried another clinic – I was talking to my daughter about it all and she was concerned about my experiences at these clinics thus far. She asked me to contact a friend of hers who knew of Mr Chitkara and Viewpoint clinic, who told me, “if anyone can help you its him.” She said and she was right! When I arrived at Viewpoint the differences in the set up there was immediately apparent, relaxed, professional and more (find out for yourself, visit a couple of clinics and then Viewpoint). I had every conceivable test with Mr Chitkara – lasting 3 hours and was delighted when Mr Chitkara told me confidently YES – can do your corrective surgery, lens exchange, cataract removal in both eyes! The day of my op I was very nervous. Mr Chitkara spoke with me the night before, in the hospital before the op and after.  Not only is Mr Chitkara a very skilled surgeon, he is genuinely caring man who takes time to talk with you on a level you understand. After the op I had no pain. I week later 20/20 vision! Mr Chitkara insists you return for regular check ups and will call you at home if necessary (all incl in price).
Marilyn Q (Liverpool)  
My Friend and I decided to do something about our eyesight and explored one o the high street offers you see – from £350 per eye! We both had consultations and I was rejected and my friend accepted. I was devastated at the time as iot had taken some strength to book a consultation in the first place. I was declined as I have presbyopia and a slight longsighted prescription whereas my friend has just longsighted prescription. I saw an advert for Viewpoint in a hospital and after reading all about it on the web and in the brochures decided to make an appointment. My consultation was quite a lengthy one and involved several eye tests. This was so that Mr Chitkara could decide which treatment would suit me best. It is always scary talking about operations on the eyes, but I must say that I felt really confident with Mr Chitkara. He has a great bedside manner. It took some time between the consultation and the date of my surgery. It isn’t a decision one makes lightly and in my case it was some months later. I had the surgery at Oaklands Hospital. The procedure is very simple and quick. You are awake through it all which is scary, but there is no pain. At the very worse, I would say there was discomfort during and after surgery for the first few days but no pain as such. The whole experience is not one I would like to repeat as I much prefer surgery that you can sleep through. My vision was blurred for few hours after the surgery and I found it easier to sleep off the operation and rest for 24 hours – the next day I returned to the consulting rooms for a check up. All was well and over the next few weeks my eyes went from strength to strength! As for glasses, I used to wear reading glasses for everything, working at a computer, reading text, looking at photos, checking labels in supermarkets, using my blackberry, etc. Now the only time I wear reading glasses (+1) is when it is dusk outside, lighting is really bad or typed material is very small (<8 point).. it has been a liberating experience and in my case definitely worth the anxiety and the experience of surgery. I will return for a check up again soon so to check that everything has bedded in well. I have no concerns but would like “expert” to check for me. I would strongly recommend this procedure and Viewpoint, ad in particular Mr Chitkara. I was vey pleased with the level of service, knowledge of the domain and overall efficiency. Thank you.
Karen M  
From start to finish a totally rewarding, painfree experience. My sight is now restored, wish I had been to viewpoint sooner.
Loraine F  
I am over the moon with the results from my Implantable contact lenses (on my complicated eyes). I now have better than 20/20 vision. I was so upset when told two years ago that I was unsuitable for laser eye surgery. My only regret is not finding out about Viewpoint Vision sooner. Viewpoint Vision were unbelievably helpful before, during and after the operation. They worked around my flights to and from Dublin and arranged a taxi service when required. The service provided was over and above what I was expecting. I will be recommending them to all my friends and family who are interested in eye surgery.
Ruth B (Dublin)   
Fantastic! Had apprehension about op being completely successful – but no problems. Nothing to worry about. Everyone was friendly, caring and professional. Do not need glasses at all. Thank you to everyone involved.
Wendy H  
Absolutely wonderful, I love my new eyes. Would definitely recommend Viewpoint to anyone. The team are spot on. Brilliant after care. Have it done.
Laura S  
After years of wearing glasses Viewpoint have now got my eyesight to a point where I do not need glasses anymore. The team and aftercare, after 2 successful operations have been outstanding. Thank you very much for changing my life for the better.
Jeffrey M  
I had refractive lens exchange surgery on 16 November 2007. I say that date so clearly as it is a date I shall never forget and my life was totally changed. I am still thrilled each morning when I first peep open my eyes and can SEE. No more bumbling about looking for specs to use until I got up properly and put in my contact lens. For over 37 years these contact lens had been my "eyes" and cannot tell you what a release it is not to have to deal with them or consider them. But best of all, is the fantastic vision that I now have. I am still surprised with the new intensity of colours - that was a totally unexpected bonus. My sight is superb with details apparent to me that I never noticed before. All of this was through the efforts of Mr Deepak Chitkara at Viewpoint Vision. He is totally professional but was also very good at giving me the necessary information to give me the confidence to undergo this operation. Great job, Deepak, thank you very much!
Barbara B - Wiltshire  
Thank you so much for all your care and attention and for setting me free!!
Sue V  
I would like to thank everyone at Viewpoint for the wonderful treatment I have had over the past two years. A special thank you to Deepak for giving me perfect sight for the first time in my life. It is a wonderful feeling to wake in the morning and be able to see. I just wish this would have happened years ago. Once again thank you and I salute you Deepak for your wonderful skills.
Bernadette S  
A very professional outfit. I am very pleased with the results. Thank you.
Andy R (Barnoldswick)  
Excellent service throughout. Very professional and caring. Would recommend to anyone. Thanks.
Shaheed D (Wilmslow)  
Cannot speak too highly of my treatment or the results- I don’t need specs anymore.
Roland B  
A Great Investment! After being told Laser treatment was not an option for my condition the price quoted for lens refractive surgery was a bit of a shock. Yes I did compare prices with alternative companies but realized the price quoted was 'par for the course'. I opted for local anaesthetic and must admit nerves kicked in on the day of operation. I should not have worried. The private hospital was very welcoming. Pre and post care was second to none and as for the procedure itself No pain, No long drawn out operation, No problem. My vision now feels better than with contact lenses However as explained I will need glasses for very close work. I have worn glasses since I was 11 years old. Why did I wait so long (now 56) for refractive surgery?
Jim G, Yorkshire  
I am over the moon with the results from my implantable contact lenses (on my complicated eyes). I now have better than 20/20 vision. I was so upset when told two years ago that I was unsuitable for Laser Eye Surgery. My only regret is not finding out about Viewpoint Vision sooner. Viewpoint Vision were unbelievable helpful before, during and after the operation. They worked around my flights to and from Dublin, and arranged a taxi service when required. The service provided was over and above what I was expecting. I will be recommending them to all my friends and family who are interested in eye surgery.
Ms R Brooks - Dublin  
Cannot speak too highly of my treatment or the results - I don't need specs anymore. Thanks
Roland B - Isle of Man  
Thank you everyone at viewpoint! I can’t begin to describe how wonderful it is to be able to see without the aid of glasses or contact lenses! The team has been so supportive and professional and made the whole process easy and really painless! I’d do it again if I had to, but now that I’m 20/20 there is no need. Thank you!
Dawn R (Styal)  
After initially being told laser treatment was not an option for my condition the price quoted for refractive surgery was a bit of a shock. Yes I did compare prices with alternative companies but realized the price quoted was ‘par for the course’. I opted for local anaesthetic and must admit nerves kicked in on the day of operation. I should not have worried. The private Hospital was very welcoming, pre and post care was second to none and as far as the procedure itself - no pain, no long drawn out operation and no problem. My vision now feels better than with contact lenses, However as explained I will need glasses for very close work. I have worn glasses since I was 11 years old. Why did I wait so long (now 56) for refractive surgery.
Jim G  
Excellent service throughout. My eyes are perfect wow! Recommend you all to the world. PS – nice tea as well!
Phil B (Liverpool)   
A special thank you to Mr Chitkara, Mr Nylander and the VP team for the excellent care I have received since my corrective surgery in April 2006. To be free of specs is a daily gift. I was a somewhat nervous patient on the day of surgery but it hardly hurt at all- and a lovely guy held my hand all the way through the procedure!
Jennifer T (Wilmslow)  
A fantastic service from start to finish. The initial consultation was very thorough with Dr Chitkara explaining everything and answering all of my questions. He put me very much at ease. The surgery itself was very quick and painless (the procedure just feels a little weird) and again, I was reassured by Dr Chitkara throughout. There was some initial uncomfortableness for 48 hours as expected but I was back at work within 4 days with no further issues. Results wise, my sight is now better than 20/20 in both eyes. After-care has been first class – Viewpoint are always at hand to assist with any queries be it by phone or in person. Dr Chitkara and Anne are very approachable, friendly and will always make time to ‘fit you in’ should you need anything. Overall, a very pleasing experience and service. Very professional and highly recommended.
Martin T (Manchester)   
I had my surgery done in Nov 2006, the service from start to finish and there after was of a very high standard, without glasses I could not see anything. Now I am totally free from glasses and my life is 100 times better. Viewpoint are a quality company and always put you first and nothing is a problem to Anne and Deepak, Thank you for my new life.
Paul M (Liverpool)  
Worth every penny no glasses no pain recommend it. Very good service and treatment – well worth having done as I don’t need glasses.
Kevin F (Maghull)   
Very Pleased- top service. Thank you.
James N   
As of today I am 3 months after Eye surgery for lens implants, having worn glasses for some 56 years. I can’t tell anyone how I feel, it is like a new life. I had surgery, everything was explained fully, very pleasant staff in the clinic and hospital. After surgery I had no pain, just discomfort for a matter of hours. Each day is just great. Mr Nylander – you are wonderful. I wish I could have had surgery years ago.
Margaret S (Wilmslow)  
Had surgery on 23rd Sept 2006 and can’t recommend Viewpoint highly enough. From the initial consultation which was very detailed and informative, through to the procedure and aftercare, there is very little to find fault with. I had medium myopia and astigmatism in both eyes and needed glasses all the time. I had surgery at 5pm Saturday and after being checked, drove 60 miles home the following morning with no problems. My eyesight has continued to improve since then and is now better than 20/20 in both eyes. The procedure was wavefront guided LASIK and was explained to me before hand. Viewpoint did everything they could to make the process as easy as possible including booking a hotel room for me. They even took me to the hotel after the procedure when my taxi didn’t turn up – great service. I certainly have no regrets about having the procedure or choosing Viewpoint.
Phillip B (Nottingham)  
Very friendly and helpful. Its great to be able to see again. Thanks Guys.
Elizabeth H (I of Man)  
After Viewpoint gave me my freedom from glasses I have never looked back. They have given me nothing but the best treatment. They are both professional and friendly. Thank you Viewpoint.
Andrew R (Barnoldswick)  
After having me eye operation my vision has improved tremendously. After being told for years nothing could be done, I consulted Viewpoint. They have corrected my vision and for the first time in 30 years I don’t have to wear glasses permanently. I am overwhelmed by the outcome of my surgery. A big thank you to all Drs and staff. I would recommend Viewpoint to anybody. Thank you.
Jeff M (Blackpool)  
What a brilliant team. Arthur Nylander performed lens replacement on both eyes at once. The operation was relaxed and I only had eye drops for pain relief. Deepak and Arthur talked me through the whole operation before the procedure and then came to see me 30 mins after the lens were implanted to explain that everything had gone according to plan. The hospital I stayed in was fantastic and I’m pleased that I decided to stay overnight and return home the following day. The aftercare has been marvelous. My sight has gone from -8 to better than 20/20 vision. Before surgery I was unable to read anything on the opticians chart – and I can now read the very bottom line. I can recommend Viewpoint – they have been excellent. Thank you Deepak and Arthur.
Jennifer C (Flintshire)  
I was given back the gift of sight and I had top class after acre. If I had the slightest worry is was solved.
Mary S (Didsbury)  
After much thought I decided to go ahead with surgery with Viewpoint Vision having been recommended Dr Chitkara by my sister who had undergone surgery nine years ago. My Initial consultation with Mr Chitkara was excellent. The clinic and surroundings are first class, professionalism throughout. He fully explained the condition of my eyes, answered my queries and uncertainties and I decided to go ahead with refractive Lens exchange. I was slightly worried about having surgery and the pain that may be involved but I had the eye surgery done in the morning under local anaesthetic and I went home in the afternoon. I was fine and I didn’t feel any pain, mild discomfort which was expected but no more than that. My only regret is that I did not go ahead with eye surgery sooner. The lazy eye which I have had since childhood is now in full working order and my vision is 20/20. I could not wish for more. This was the eye that I had thought would not be 100% due to me having a problem with it for long so the results were far beyond my expectations. I cannot recommend Mr Chitkara highly enough and I would like to say thank you for restoring my sight. The aftercare I received was also great. I would highly recommend Dr Chitkara to friends and family and anyone wishing to go ahead with eye treatment.
Frank M (Liverpool)  
I have been a patient of Mr Deepak Chitkara for several years now. Due to his knowledge and expertise he has given myself and my family a much better quality of life. He took my visual problems on when no-one else would. He is very professional and his aftercare is second to none. Myself and my family regard him a friend now as he has been a vey special person in our lives. I would recommend him to any one that would listen. I wish him well in the future.
Michelle S (N Ireland)   
I would like to thank you for my ‘new eyes’. It is just great to be able to see so well without the hassle of putting on glasses or contact lenses. I have a slight blur with lights at night but apart from that everything is fine. I feel like I have so much energy to do things its quite amazing. I just wish it could last longer than 10-15 years! Still technology could have changed enormously by then. Thanks once again I am so grateful.
Tanya C (York)   
Thank you for giving me ‘Perfect Sight’ What a difference it has made to my life – priceless treatment and aftercare.
Colette E (Salford)   
Deepak performed laser surgery on my right eye after a lens replacement by the NHS left me with no focus and needing glasses. The result of his treatment has been a complete restoration of my middle and distance focus which is fantastic! The clinic is absolutely spotless, the staff are very professional, thorough and friendly which makes the experience as relaxed as one could possibly be. Any questions are answered in depth to ensure you are aware of the procedure and the aftercare is totally supportive. I would recommend anyone looking at laser or lens replacement to consult Deepak.
Sharon P   
Having suffered with high astigmatism for almost 20 years and exploring laser options previously, I had given up on the dream of corrective surgery. That was until Deepak and his team came highly recommended! I now have vision I could only dream about! I can only say there is no rating high enough for Viewpoint Vision and the skills of Deepak. His concerns for safety and getting the right result are second to none and would urge anyone thinking of surgery to give them a call.
Jill F   
I would like to send huge thanks to you all for the amazing changes in my eyesight! Deepak, for your wonderful skills. I can’t imagine what job satisfaction you must get from changing peoples lives with your surgical talent! Mike, you must have the patience of a saint to get people to sit still on a daily basis! Anne, such a warm friendly person who keeps it all running smoothly! Its difficult to put into words how amazing it is to be able to see! I never thought I would get results like this! My eyes now feel free! Thank you all!
Jill F (Derby)  
Thank you for everything! I can’t believe how everything went so smoothly. I enjoyed having the operation here. Very professional and friendly. Keep it up! Thank you again.
Haidy L (Cairo, Egypt)   
Best thing ever done. 5 stars Mr Chitkara and staff. Cannot thank you enough. This is a best Christmas gift ever! No glasses see you all soon. Best wishes.
Francis W (Liverpool)  
Its lovely to wake and not need to put lenses or glasses on. The whole procedure went smoothly and pain free. Should have had it done years ago. Nice coffee as well.
Jennifer T  
After wearing glasses from the age of 6 and contact lenses from 23 what a thrill its been to see the real world at the tender age of 50. That’s why I am taking a few moments of my time to sya thank you to Deepak and Anne for all your wonderful treatment from the first appointment through to procedure and ongoing aftercare. Once again to all at Viewpoint – Thank you.
Tom J   
After wearing glasses from the age of 6 and contact lenses from 23 what a thrill its been to see the real world at the tender age of 50. That’s why I am taking a few moments of my time to say thank you to Deepak, Anne and Mike for all your wonderful treatment from the first appointment through to procedure and ongoing aftercare. Once again to all at Viewpoint, Thank You.
Tom J (Liverpool)  
Really pleased with outcome. 100% better would and have recommended to friends.
Arnold L (Blackpool)   
Words cannot express my overwhelming experience of Viewpoint Vision. It started a few weeks ago when I decided to take the plunge and get rid of my glasses. I have been wearing glasses for over 30 years and I actually hated wearing them as ther were always in the way when playing sports etc. After the consultation, Deepak went through the procedures that was offered to me and I opted for the Refractive Lens Exchange with Accommodating Lenses. On the day of the surgery nerves kicked in but I don’t know why, as I hardly felt anything and it was done within 5-10 minutes. Deepak was so professional throughout the process. The next morning I could see but not so clearly. My vision was a bit blurred, but during the day it got clearer. The next morning, it was perfect. It has been 6 weeks now since I had surgery and my vision is more than perfect. The lenses I had were Lenstec, Softec HD in both eyes and now I can say I see in High Definition now. I can now see colours sharper and crisper than ever before. The question I have for myself is, Why did I not do this a lot earlier?
K J (Telford)  
Absolutely delighted with result. Everything looks brighter and new. It is unbelieveable. It is as if and additional light is switched on. Thank you all for taking care of me.
Maria P (Bowdon, Cheshire  
Absolutely delighted. Had new lenses fitted without any pain!! Unbelievable. Vision for both short and long sight better than I can ever recall as a child > Thank you all.
I S H ( Newcastle-u-Tyne)  
From the age of 3 years old I’ve worn thick ugly glasses – up to the age of 17 when I started to wear contact lenses. I am now Thanks to Deepak, at the age of 40 spectacle free! After lens implants and a top up with laser. Thank you all so much for your care and help. I am absolutely thrilled!!
Pauline B (Rugby)   
I have recently had eye surgery and the whole experience has been wonderful. My sight is brilliant and the care I have had is second to none.
V S   
The results of my eye surgery is amazing and the treatment I have received from everyone has been wonderful Thank you sincerely.
Bernadette S  
Its brilliant being able to see things that I have been missing for such a long time.
Linda W (Matlock)  
As an optometrist I was obviously very nervous, but from start to finish my care was wonderful. To wake up this morning and see across the quays was quite amazing after 25 years of myopia! Thank you is not enough!
Anne D (Derby)  
A wonderful liberating experience. Thank you for all your care and kindness. I will recommend you to all my bespectacled friends!
Kathy B (Middlewich)   
We cannot thank you enough for all your care and kindness. God bless you all.
Jayne H